Skip to content

The Patron Saint of Superheroes

Chris Gavaler Explores the Multiverse of Comics, Pop Culture, and Politics

I apparently made some peculiar digital art over the last few years. I blame this sequence on the pandemic. It came well after the lockdown (which really did spur some unlikely MS Paint experimentation), but it builds on the same distortion techniques. Technically each of these would be called a “photo illustration,” though I’m not sure if photo illustrations from movie stills (great oxymoron) deserve their own term, and if so, I don’t know what to call a sequence of them (except of course “comic”). Whatever the name of its medium, I titled it “WvVW” because that letter pattern is a little like the digital patterning that forms the images. It’s also an abbreviation of Werewolf Versus Vampire Woman, the 1971 B-movie public domain horror I paused and snipped the stills from — minus any actual vampires or werewolves. Each of the six pages uses the same 3×2 layout and comprises a two-character scene of wordless but implied dialogue, though the high levels of visual and narrative abstraction are the main tensions. My favorites are the first and last.

SCENE ONE

SCENE TWO

SCENE THREE

SCENE FOUR

SCENE FIVE

SCENE SIX

I’m not sure, but I may prefer some of the isolated panels. Here are my four favorites:

Tags: , ,